Posted by: albenson | February 25, 2009

…a servant of Jesus Christ

The Lord has recently been stirring my heart towards serving and my mind has been flooded with many questions, including these and more:

What does a servant look like?

What do they do?

Who do they serve?

How do they serve?

Why do they serve?

Who is the ultimate servant?

How can I serve my family?

What does it look like to serve Christ while serving my family and others?

This morning I was trying to sing a song I knew was  about serving and couldn’t remember the words. It was one of the first I learned to play and I could hear it in my head. I finally got frustrated enough I went and grabbed my good ‘ol Baptist Hymnal and found it. When we think of our Savior, it makes it easier to serve. Worship as you read:

“Serve the Lord with Gladness”

“Serve the Lord with gladness” in our works and ways,
Come before his presence with our songs of praise;
Unto him our Maker we would pledge anew
Life’s supreme devotion to service true.

“Serve the Lord with gladness,” thankful all the while
For his tender mercies, for his loving smile:
Blessed truth enduring, always just the same,
We will serve with gladness and praise his name.

“Serve the Lord with gladness,” this shall be our theme,
As we walk together in his love supreme:
List’ning, ever list’ning for the still, small voice,
His sweet will so precious will be our choice.

Chorus:

“Serve him with gladness,” enter his courts with song;
To our Creator true praises belong:
Great is his mercy, wonderful is his name,
We gladly serve him, his great love proclaim.

(emphasis mine)

Could you or I be described as a servant of Jesus Christ? (Jude 1)

Leave a Reply

Categories

